CULPRIT Premieres New Single, Announces New EP via Easy Killer Records

Leave a comment

July 16, 2013 by shockboxtv


Photo Credit: Ian Flanigan

Tuesday, July 16th 2013 LOS ANGELES:

Southern California rock quartet CULPRIT have premiered a new single entitled “Totem,” the title track from their forthcoming EP to be released on August 20th via Easy Killer Records & Apparel.

The new EP, produced by Dryw Owens (From Indian Lakes, Consider the Thief) and Erik Ron (I the Mighty, Panic! at the Disco, VersaEmerge), will be Culprit’s follow-up effort to 2011’s independently released Analogue.

Having added Pennsylvania-born guitarist Brian Fulda in late 2011, this will be the first completed album with the new lineup. The past two years have brought tours with acts like Happy Body Slow Brain, Dance Gavin Dance, I the Mighty, A Lot Like Birds, and The Orphan, The Poet, along with a defined writing trademark closely compared to the likes of Thrice and Envy on the Coast.

Vocalist Travis Powell touches on the capacity of Totem saying, “In the movie Inception, the characters use objects referred to as ‘totems’ to keep them grounded within their dreams. Music is my totem, it’s what keeps me from losing sight on what is important.” Guitarist Brian Fulda adds, “We are able to understand each other a lot better as people because of this writing process, and the time it took to reach that point was essential, even if it took us a little over two years to complete. I think recording with Dryw Owens only furthered this level of comfort and understanding.”

In addition to having a new EP slated for August, this will also be Culprit’s first official label release, as they inked a deal with St. Louis-based Easy Killer Records & Apparel in March. The band joined a diverse roster with artists like Night Verses, The Company We Keep, Farewell Fighter, Mandolyn Mae, and several others.

“It only took one listen to get me hooked on the Analogue EP, so I had quite the expectations for them,” states Easy Killer Records president Mike Judy regarding Culprit. “The dudes completely surpassed those, and Dryw [Owens] played a big part in helping them do so.”

Pre-orders for the new EP Totem will be announced next week, and fans can expect a new music video premiere before August. A record release show will also be announced in the coming weeks.

Official Totem Artwork and Tracklisting:

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 8.49.02 PM

1.     Totem

2.     Supply & Command

3.     Knock on the Sky

4.     No More

5.     Bodies Divided

6.     We’re to Blame

7.     Piece of Eden

Stream the New Single/Title Track “Totem:” 

Official Tour Dates:

July 26th – Upland, CA @ The Wire

August 1st – Los Angeles, CA @ Amplyfi w/ Happy Body Slow Brain

August 4th – Long Beach, CA @ Wilmore 9 Music Festival




Media Contact: Nate Sirotta /

Label Contact: Mike Judy /


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

%d bloggers like this: